Topics: , , , ,

The Royal Television Society (RTS) has unveiled the nominations for its 2020 Television Journalism Awards, sponsored by Avid.

The BBC leads the way with 28 nominations overall across 17 of the 19 categories, followed by ITV with 10 nominations.

The prestigious RTS awards will be presented at a ceremony hosted by Sky News presenter Anna Botting on the 26th February 2020 at the London Hilton on Park Lane. The awards, which span both news and current affairs, seek to recognise creative and excellent journalism by organisations whose broadcasts are transmitted on a UK-based platform, or who create online video content from a UK production base.

Simon Bucks, Chair, RTS Television Journalism Awards, said: “The quality of entries this year has been better than ever. With such a high bar, competition to reach the short list was hotly contested and all the nominees in every category would be worthy winners.”

2020 Nominations

Breaking News

• Turkey’s Incursion into Syria (CNN International)
• Hong Kong (BBC Newschannel)
• Hong Kong Protesters Storm Legislative Council (CNN International)

Camera Operator of the Year

• Ben Martin – Channel 4 News (ITN for Channel 4)
• Mstyslav Chernov – Associated Press
• Wang Xiqing – BBC News (BBC One)

Current Affairs – Home

• Panorama – Undercover Hospital Abuse Scandal (BBC Panorama for BBC One)
• Exposure – The Priory: Teenage Mental Health Uncovered (Hardcash Productions for ITV)
• Spotlight on The Troubles: A Secret History (BBC NI for BBC Four and BBC One Northern Ireland)

Current Affairs – International

• This World – One Day in Gaza (BBC Current Affairs London for BBC Two)
• Exposure – Undercover: Inside China’s Digital Gulag (Hardcash Productions for ITV)
• For Sama (ITN Productions for Channel 4)

Daily News Programme of the Year

• News at Ten (ITN for ITV)
• BBC News at Ten (BBC News for BBC One)
• Newsnight (BBC Two)

Digital Award

• Why are transgender people self-medicating? (Sky News for Snapchat Discover and YouTube)
• Modern Masculinity – Men need meaning and responsibility (The Guardian for The Guardian / YouTube)
• Uncovered – Mexico Femicide (ITN for Online)

Interview of the Year

• Harry and Meghan: An African Journey – Duchess of Sussex (ITN Productions and ITV News for ITV)
• Andrew Neil interviews Boris Johnson (BBC News for BBC One)
• The Prince Andrew Interview – Newsnight (BBC Two)

Nations and Regions Current Affairs

• The Pub Bombings (BBC Birmingham for BBC England)
• Spotlight – Paisley in Paradise (BBC Northern Ireland)
• Disclosure: Who Killed Emma? (BBC Scotland for BBC One Scotland)

Nations and Regions News

• ITV News London – Domestic Abuse: The Crime Behind Closed Doors (ITN for ITV)
• BBC Look North (Yorkshire) – Floods November 2019 (BBC Yorkshire for BBC One)
• BBC South East Today – Shoreham Special programme (BBC South East for BBC One)

Nations and Regions Presenter of the Year

• Mark Carruthers – The View; Sunday Politics NI; Election 2019 BBC Northern Ireland
• Riz Lateef – BBC London for BBC One
• Tony Morris – ITV News – Granada Reports (ITV News for ITV )

Network Presenter of the Year

• Emily Maitlis – Newsnight (BBC Two)
• Tom Bradby – ITV News (ITN for ITV)
• Victoria Derbyshire – Victoria Derbyshire Programme (BBC Two and BBC Newschannel)

RTS News Channel of the Year

• BBC Newschannel
CNN International
• Sky News

News Coverage – Home

• Britain’s Hidden Children’s Homes – Newsnight (BBC Two)
• The Murder of Lyra McKee – Channel 4 News (ITN for Channel 4)
• The Death of Molly Russell – BBC News

News Coverage – International

• The Migrant Crisis: Death on the Channel – ITV News (ITN for ITV)
• Inside Syria – Channel 4 News (ITN for Channel 4)
• The Missing Muslims of Xinjiang – BBC News at Ten

News Technology

• Click 1000 – BBC Click
• Vote Coder – BBC News
• First Lives from the Deep – Sky News and Associated Press

Scoop of the Year

• Undercover with the Clerics: Iraq’s Secret Sex Trade – BBC Arabic Investigates (BBC News Arabic for BBC One)
• Harry Dunn (Sky News)
• The Prince Andrew Interview – Newsnight (BBC Two)

Specialist Journalist of the Year

• Alex Crawford – War Crimes & Crimes against Humanity (Sky News)
• Dan Rivers – ITV News (ITN for ITV)
• Rohit Kachroo – ITV News (ITN for ITV)

Television Journalist of the Year

• Gabriel Gatehouse – Newsnight (BBC Two)
• Nima Elbagir – CNN International
• Stuart Ramsay – Sky News

Young Talent of the Year

• Ben Hunte – BBC News
• Martha Kelner – Sky News
• Yousra Elbagir – Channel 4 News (ITN for Channel 4)