Success for Nine Network at 2020 Walkley Awards

Nine Network

Nine’s diverse journalism was recognised during the 65th Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism, collecting nine awards across its publishing and television divisions, in the biggest news year in history.

The award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism went to The Sydney Morning Herald’s Ross Gittins for his 40-year commitment to making economics and public policy not only accessible but a must read. He was also honoured for his dedication to mentoring many generations of journalists.

Michael Roddan from The Australian Financial Review won one of the Walkley Awards for Business Journalism for his investigation into sexual harassment at AMP that led to the resignation of the company’s chairman. The Financial Review’s cartoonist David Rowe was also awarded a Walkley for his cartoon ‘Thoughts and Prayers’.

Jacqueline Maley and Kate McClymont from The Sydney Morning Herald/The Age won the Print/Text news report category for their investigation into shock claims of sexual harassment against former High Court Justice Heydon Dyson.

Liam Mannix from The Age won the Feature Writing Short award (under 4000 words) for his pandemic piece ‘The perfect virus: two gene tweaks that turned COVID-19 into a killer’, and Tony Wright from The Age was awarded a Walkley for Commentary, Analysis, Opinion and Critique.

Pictorially, 2020 was a year like no other. Beginning with some of the world’s worst bushfires to dramatic and violent Black Lives Matter protests in the US, Nine’s skilled photographers and camera operators were on the front line.

The Sydney Morning Herald’s Chief Photographer Nick Moir won Feature/Photographic Essay for ‘Firestorm’ and Adam Bovino received a Walkley for Television/Video: Camerawork for his vision for Today/9News of the George Floyd protests.

Nick McKenzie, Joel Tozer and Sumeyya Ilanbey were awarded a Walkley for Television/Video: Current Affairs Long for their year-long 60 Minutes investigation ‘The Faceless Man’ that exposed the dark underbelly in Victoria’s Labor Party and saw powerbroker Adem Somyurek expelled.

James Chessell, Executive Editor of The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age, said: “Congratulations to all the winners from our newsrooms. It’s just wonderful to see the talent, independence and hard work of our journalists recognised.”

The Herald‘s Editor Lisa Davies and Executive Editor James Chessell also paid tribute to Gittins on behalf of all their predecessors.

“Ross has forged an extraordinary career explaining complicated economic concepts and policies in ways readers not only understand, but respect,” Ms Davies said. “His verdict on each Federal Budget remains a highlight of the Herald’s coverage, and the first thing most readers devour.”

The Australian Financial Review’s Editor-in-chief Michael Stutchbury, and Editor Paul Bailey said: “Michael Roddan’s AMP series was the result of a young reporter turning a tip-off about unacceptable personal behaviour into a journalistic investigation that claimed the chair of one of Australia’s most iconic financial institutions. David Rowe confirmed his position as Australia’s most decorated and brilliant cartoonist.”

Simon Hobbs, 9News Sydney News Director, said: “Adam Bovino is an incredibly talented cameraman and journalist. This award not only honours his incredible work in Minnesota but also a career of outstanding stories.”

Kirsty Thomson, Executive Producer of 60 Minutes, said: “The Faceless Man was an extraordinary piece of television journalism. Nick McKenzie, Joel Tozer and Sumeyya Ilanbey’s investigation of branch-stacking and political corruption in the Victorian Labor party had undeniable impact. Daniel Andrews held a press conference to announce Adem Somyurek’s sacking and expulsion from the ALP. Two other ministers also resigned. The story was also another example of the power of collaboration between 60 Minutes, The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald. Congratulations to all involved.”

Winners of the 2020 Walkley Awards

• Outstanding Contribution to Journalism – Ross Gittins (The Sydney Morning Herald)
• Print/Text: News Report – Jacqueline Maley and Kate McClymont (The Sydney Morning Herald/The Age); ‘Dirty Dyson: A harasser on the High Court’
• Print/Text: Feature Writing Short (under 4000 words) – Liam Mannix (The Age); ‘The Perfect Virus: Two gene tweaks that turned COVID-19 into a killer’
• Cartoon – David Rowe (The Australian Financial Review); ‘Thoughts and Prayers’
• Business Journalism – Michael Roddan (The Australian Financial Review); ‘#AMPToo – sexual harassment at AMP’
• Feature/Photographic Essay – Nick Moir (The Sydney Morning Herald); ‘Firestorm’
• Television/Video: Camerawork – Adam Bovino (Today and 9News); ‘George Floyd Protests’
• Television/Video: Current Affairs Long (More than 20 Minutes) – Nick McKenzie, Joel Tozer and Sumeyya Ilanbey (60 Minutes) ‘The Faceless Man’
• Commentary, Analysis, Opinion and Critique – Tony Wright (The Age)