TVNZ is the state-owned, but commercially funded broadcaster of New Zealand which was founded in 1980. Available nationally and also to some Pacific Island nations, TVNZ operates three full time television channels.

In July 2011, the Government passed legislation which repealed the Charter. The amended Television New Zealand Act now specifies the functions of TVNZ are to be: “a successful television and digital media company providing a range of content and services on a choice of delivery platforms and maintain its commercial performance.”