Rylan and Scott Mills announced as Radio 2’s hosts for Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final

Rylan and Scott Mills announced as Radio 2’s hosts for Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final

BBC Radio 2 – the home of Eurovision 2023 on UK radio – announces that Scott Mills and Rylan will be the station’s presenters for the Eurovision Song Contest 2023 Grand Final which will be broadcast live on Radio 2 on Saturday 13 May. And for the very first time, Radio 2 will also broadcast the Eurovision Semi-Finals, which will be presented by Paddy O’Connell.

Eurovision superfans and Radio 2 presenters, Scott and Rylan – who have been involved in Eurovision coverage for many years – will be bringing their insightful and colourful commentary to the Grand Final on the network, broadcasting live from the centre of the action at Liverpool Arena.

The UK is hosting the 2023 event on behalf of the 2022 winners, Ukraine. It will be the culmination of a week in the city for Scott and Rylan, as they are also providing TV commentary for the Semi-Finals – both of which, for the first time in the UK’s Eurovision Song Contest history, will be broadcast live on BBC One and BBC iPlayer. Meanwhile Scott’s afternoon show (Tuesday to Friday, 2-4pm) on Radio 2 will be coming from Liverpool all week, with Richie Anderson hosting the show on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday as Scott prepares to host the semi-finals on TV.

For the first time, this year Radio 2 will also be broadcasting the two Eurovision Semi-Finals, with Paddy O’Connell hosting the network’s live coverage from the Liverpool Arena. In the first Semi-Final on Tuesday 9 May (8-10pm), fifteen countries are taking part with ten qualifying for the Grand Final on Saturday night. And on Thursday 11 May, Paddy returns with live coverage from the second of the Semi-Finals, with sixteen countries taking part and ten qualifying for the Grand Final on Saturday night. These shows will also be simulcast on BBC Radio Merseyside.

Rylan says: “Eurovision is my favourite time of the year, I cannot wait! And I’m so excited and absolutely buzzing to be hosting the Eurovision Grand Final on Radio 2, the biggest and best music event in the world, with my partner-in-crime Scott Mills. We can’t wait to bring listeners closer to the action than ever before, with all the fun, excitement and backstage gossip from what promises to be an unforgettable night.”

Scott says: “I can’t begin to describe how excited I am to be presenting the Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest on Radio 2. I’ve had the great pleasure of being involved with Eurovision in various ways over the years, from commentating alongside Graham Norton to singing karaoke with the contestants, but presenting from the Grand Final in Liverpool is the ultimate childhood dream come true. Rylan and I will be going all out so please come and join the party live on Radio 2!”

Paddy says: “I’m walking on sunshine to join Radio 2 live in Liverpool hosting the Eurovision Semi-Finals. Sam Ryder broke the UK Eurovision spell last year and I hope it’s magic for Mae in 2023.”

Helen Thomas, Head of Radio 2, says: “The 2023 Eurovision Song Contest will be a very special event and who better to host Radio 2’s coverage of the Grand Final than our very own Scott and Rylan. And I’m delighted that for the first time, Radio 2 will be bringing our listeners all the drama and fun from the Semi-Finals, hosted by Paddy O’Connell. With years of Eurovision experience under his belt, Paddy is the perfect guide for fans and also those who may be discovering Eurovision for the first time.”

BBC Radio 2 is the UK’s most listened to radio station, with a weekly audience of 14.29 million (RAJAR Q4, 2022), and won Station Of The Year at the Music Week 2021 awards. The Zoe Ball Breakfast Show is most listened to breakfast show in the UK with an audience of 7.14 million (RAJAR Q4, 2022). The network’s presenters include Michael Ball, Zoe Ball, Rob Beckett, Tony Blackburn, OJ Borg, Rev. Kate Bottley, Rylan, Fearne Cotton, Sara Cox, Jamie Cullum, Gary Davies, Paul Gambaccini, Angela Griffin, Bob Harris, Vernon Kay, Cerys Matthews, Scott Mills, Jason Mohammad, Trevor Nelson, Dermot O’Leary, Elaine Paige, Mark Radcliffe, Romesh Ranganathan, DJ Spoony, Liza Tarbuck, Jeremy Vine, Michelle Visage, Johnnie Walker, Jo Whiley, Phil Williams, Claudia Winkleman, Steve Wright and Owain Wyn Evans.

BBC Radio 2

Scroll to Top