Nominees Announced for ‘The 2024 Espys Presented by Capital One,’ Airing July 11 at 8 P.M. on ABC

Nominees Announced for ‘The 2024 Espys Presented by Capital One,’ Airing July 11 at 8 P.M. on ABC

Nominees Announced for ‘The 2024 Espys Presented by Capital One,’ Airing July 11 at 8 P.M. on ABC


ESPN announced the nominees for “The 2024 ESPYS Presented by Capital One,” hosted by Serena Williams, and fan voting is now open.


A list of “The 2024 ESPYS” nominees is available here, and fans can cast their vote at More information is available in the complete 2024 ESPYS Media Kit.


Voting is now underway and all categories will close at 5 p.m. EDT on July 11, just prior to the start of “The 2024 ESPYS.”


Top nominees include Simone Biles, Jaylen Brown, Caitlin Clark, Coco Gauff, Patrick Mahomes and Shohei Ohtani.

First-time nominees include Haleigh Bryant, Coco Gauff, C.J. Stroud, Juju Watkins and Victor Wembanyama.

Patrick Mahomes and Shohei Ohtani will seek their second win for Best Athlete, Men’s Sports to join LeBron James, Lance Armstrong and Tiger Woods as the only athletes to win the category multiple times.

Caitlin Clark, Coco Gauff and Kelly Norda earn their first nomination for Best Athlete, Female Sports. They are up against two-time nominee A’ja Wilson.

Christian McCaffrey tied Lenny Moore for the most consecutive games with a touchdown in NFL history (including playoffs), earning him his second nomination for Best Record-Breaking Performance. McCaffrey was nominated in this category in 2016 after setting the single season DI all-purpose yards record.

Two-time World Series MVP Corey Seager and two-time American League MVP Shohei Ohtani will face off for Best MLB Player. Rounding out the category is Ronald Acuña Jr. and Gerrit Cole.
Hosted by Serena Williams, “The 2024 ESPYS” will broadcast live on Thursday, July 11, at 8 p.m. EDT/PDT on ABC from Los Angeles. The star-studded ceremony will relive the highlight moments of the year, honor leading athletes and performances, and bring together the sports industry’s fan favorites and biggest stars.

Top celebrities from sports and entertainment will gather to recognize nominees and honor winners in categories such as Best Athlete, Men’s Sports; Best Athlete, Women’s Sports; Best Breakthrough Athlete; Best Record-Breaking Performance; Best Championship Performance; and Best Comeback Athlete.

Per tradition, “The 2024 ESPYS” will also showcase the achievements of inspiring and courageous athletes who embody the spirit of “The ESPYS” through three pillar awards – the Arthur Ashe Award for Courage Award, the Jimmy V Award for Perseverance Award, and The Pat Tillman Award for Service. Honorees for each of these awards will be announced later this week. The show supports ESPN’s ongoing commitment to The V Foundation for Cancer Research, launched in 1993 by ESPN in partnership with the late Jim Valvano.

Any media interested in applying for credentials for “The 2024 ESPYS can apply below.


About “The ESPYS”

“The 2024 ESPYS Presented by Capital One” will take place Thursday, July 11, from the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles. Top celebrities from sports and entertainment will come together to commemorate the past year in sports by recognizing major athletic achievements, reliving unforgettable moments, and saluting the leading performers and performances. “The ESPYS” will be broadcast live on ABC Thursday, July 11, at 8 p.m. ET / PT. “The ESPYS” helps to raise awareness and funds for the V Foundation for Cancer Research, the charity founded by ESPN and the late basketball coach Jim Valvano at the first ESPYS back in 1993. ESPN has helped raise more than $200 million for the V Foundation over the past 30 years. “The ESPYS” is co-produced by ESPN and Full Day Productions. Follow on X/Twitter @ESPYS.

ABC Publicity

Scroll to Top