8 SEPTEMBER 2023 (TORONTO, ON) – Gearing up for her highly anticipated debut album out next month, 19-year-old Southern California singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist Claire Rosinkranz shares a new single entitled “Wes Anderson” today—listen BELOW! Just Because is set for release on October 6th via slowplay/Republic Records/Universal Music Canada.

Produced by Afterhrs and Paul Phamous, the track’s quirky beat brushes up against loose guitar. Over this soundscape, Claire takes control of the story and asserts herself, “Let me set the picture like Wes Anderson,”only to recoil into the depths of heartbreak. She surges back on the refrain and wonders, “When will you wake up? Get over your heartbreak.” It unfolds as an internal dialogue worthy of one of the legendary auteur’s characters.

About the song, Claire commented, “Honestly, this song started when I walked into my bathroom and started singing gibberish into the air. I kinda just spit out, ‘Let me set the picture like Wes Anderson,’ and then started making up the rest of the story. It’s about being hung up in a relationship/person that just wasn’t that great, and needing to refocus on the important things in life.”

“Wes Anderson” follows the fan favourite “Pools and Palm Trees.” Beyond generating over 1 million streams and counting, Rolling Stone plugged it among “The Songs You Need To Know This Week,” and Popdust proclaimed, “Rosinkranz is a dynamo to watch in the music industry.” Clash Magazine noted, “The multi-talented SoCal native is still only 19 years old, yet her every missive seems to reach a colossal online audience.”

Earlier this year, Claire paved the way for Just Because with her singles, “Sad In Hawaii,” “Never Goes Away,” and “Screw Time”, piling up millions of streams and stirring up excitement among fans. Not to mention, she recently teamed up with Louis The Child on their summertime anthem “Walls” and even performed the song with them live for the very first time at Lollapalooza last weekend during their headline set.

On Just Because, Claire captures all of the joy, confusion, anxiety, and wonder of growing up through 13 tracks set to a soundtrack of gleeful guitars, lo-fi production, and chantable choruses—all under the California sun. Throughout 2022, she wrote and recorded the album with producers Afterhrs, Paul Phamous, Stint, Elie Rizk, and her most frequent collaborator, executive producer, and dad Ragnar Rosinkranz.

On the album, she says, “Just Because is a collection of songs I wrote about my life as an 18-year-old. It’s a window into my world as I’m growing up and navigating life. Enjoy stepping into my lil movie.”

This past week, Claire wrapped a slew of headline shows across the country, as she gears up for her much anticipated debut album release and more shows to come.

Over a soundtrack of alternative pop spiked with just the right amount of punk and electronics, Claire Rosinkranz asserts herself as a true Gen-Z storyteller whose vision instantly captivates. Since releasing her breakout Gold-Certified debut “Backyard Boy,” the buzzing artist has built a diehard fanbase worldwide, racked up over 1 billion global streams and counting, received a US Gold Certification, won the MTV Trending Award for “Best Breakthrough Song” at the 2021 MTV VMAs, garnered a “Social Star” nomination at the 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards, toured with Alec Benjamin and sold out headline shows across North America, and performed at a slew of legendary music festivals, including Lollapalooza, Austin City Limits, Life Is Beautiful, and more.

1. “123”
2. “Sad in Hawaii”
3. “Never Goes Away”
4. “Dreamer”
5. “Swinging at the Stars”
6. “Screw Time”
7. “Gum”
8. “Wes Anderson”
9. “Banksy”
10. “Polarized”
11. “Jupiter”
12. “Pools and Palm Trees”
13. “Mess”

Universal Music Canada

Scroll to Top