BBC Radio 2 launches its new station sound

BBC Radio 2 launches its new station sound

Radio 2 – the UK’s most listened to radio station – has unveiled its brand-new station sound package, made by London-based audio production company Wisebuddah. The new package features a live orchestral session recorded at London’s AIR studios with the prestigious BBC Concert Orchestra.

Wisebuddah worked in close collaboration with the network’s Pop Hub Station Sound team to create a package that is not only innovative and memorable, but also uses new singers never heard on a UK network package, all creating a stylistic expression of the station.

The bespoke package features a range of generic elements, crafted around mood-invoking sounds which range from party vibes to more chilled and relaxed feeling themes, in addition to several show specific themes for the station’s daytime output, including the brand-new Vernon Kay show.

Robert Gallacher, Commissioning Editor, BBC Pop, says: “We’re delighted to launch Radio 2’s newly-updated station sound to our listeners. Featuring new singers and the wonderful BBC Concert Orchestra, it encapsulates the network’s rich musical heritage and encompasses a range of mood themes for our shows, from upbeat to chilled.”

Hear the full package at

BBC Radio 2 is the UK’s most listened to radio station, with a weekly audience of 14.46 million (RAJAR Q1, 2023), and won Station Of The Year at the Music Week 2021 awards. The Zoe Ball Breakfast Show is most listened to breakfast show in the UK with an audience of 7.26 million (RAJAR Q1, 2023). The network’s presenters include Michael Ball, Zoe Ball, Rob Beckett, Tony Blackburn, OJ Borg, Rev. Kate Bottley, Rylan, Fearne Cotton, Sara Cox, Jamie Cullum, Gary Davies, Paul Gambaccini, Angela Griffin, Bob Harris, Vernon Kay, Cerys Matthews, Scott Mills, Jason Mohammad, Trevor Nelson, Dermot O’Leary, Elaine Paige, Mark Radcliffe, Romesh Ranganathan, DJ Spoony, Liza Tarbuck, Jeremy Vine, Michelle Visage, Johnnie Walker, Jo Whiley, Phil Williams, Claudia Winkleman, Steve Wright and Owain Wyn Evans.

BBC Radio 2

Scroll to Top